News

Friday 25 November 2016
New paper: "Above- and belowground insect herbivory modifies the response of a grassland plant community to nitrogen eutrophication”
Friday 25 November 2016
New paper: "Ten policies for pollinators”
Wednsday 23 November 2016 New paper: "Experimental evidence that honeybees depress wild insect densities in a flowering crop”
Tuesday 18 October 2016
New paper: "When natural habitat fails to enhance biological pest control – Five hypotheses”
Friday 30 September 2016
Dissertation: "Restoration of plant and pollinator communities in fragmented grasslands"
Thursday 29 September 2016 New paper: Historical change and drivers of insect pest abundances in red clover seed production
Monday 19 September 2016 New Bachelor theses from the group on snailsand pollen beetles
Wednesday 7 September 2016 New paper: "Soil compaction and insect pollination modify impacts of crop rotation on nitrogen fixation and yield"
Sunday 31 July 2016
New paper: "Trees in agricultural landscapes enhance provision of ecosystem services in Sub-Saharan Africa"
Monday 20 June 2016
New paper: "Competition between managed honeybees and wild bumblebees depends on landscape context"
Wednesday 25 May 2016 Postdoctoral researcher announced: "Biodiversity and ecosystem services in diversified agriculture"
Thursday 19 May 2016 PhD position announced: "Food webs and ecosystem services in agriculture"
Wednesday 9 May 2016
New paper published: ”Corncrake conservation genetics at a European scale: The impact of biogeographical and anthropological processes"
Wednesday 13 April 2016
New paper published: ”Interactive effects of pests increase seed yield”
Thursday 7 April 2016
New paper: "Aboveground insect herbivory increases plant competitive asymmetry, while belowground herbivory mitigates the effect."
Monday 14 March 2016
New paper: "Habitat management on multiple spatial scales can enhance bee pollination and crop yield in tropical homegardens"
Wednesday 2 March 2016
New paper: "Aphid parasitoids respond to vegetation heterogeneity but not to fragmentation scale: An experimental field study"
Friday 26 February 2016
New paper: "Diagnostic PCR assays to unravel food web interactions in cereal crops with focus on biological control of aphids"
Wednesday 10 February 2016 New paper: "Agricultural landscape simplification reduces natural pest control: A quantitative synthesis"
Friday 15 January 2016
Mini-Symposium: "Diversifying Agriculture - Impacts on Crop Production and Ecosystem Services”
Friday 29 January 2016 13.00 Seminar: "Integrated management of biological crop pest control"
Thursday 10 December 2015 New paper: "Large-scale pollination experiment demonstrates the importance of insect pollination in winter oilseed rape"
Wednesday 2 December 2015 New Paper: "Non-bee insects are important contributors to global crop pollination"
Tuesday 22 September 2015 New Paper: "Trait matching of flower visitors and crops predicts fruit set better than trait diversity"
Tuesday 15 September 2015 New Paper: "Local and landscape-level floral resources explain effects of wildflower strips on wild bees across four European countries"
Tuesday 1 September 2015 New Paper: "Pollinators, pests and soil properties interactively shape oilseed rape yield"
Monday 31 August 2015
New paper: "Neonicotinoid Insecticides and Their Impacts on Bees: A Systematic Review of Research Approaches and Identification of Knowledge Gaps"
Monday 17 August 2015
New paper: ”Effects of agroforestry on pest, disease and weed control: a meta-analysis”
Tuesday 10 August 2015
New paper: "Experimental evidence that the effectiveness of conservation biological control depends on landscape complexity"
Tuesday 7 July 2015
New paper: "Time will tell: resource continuity bolsters ecosystem services"
Tuesday 16 June 2015
New paper: "Delivery of crop pollination services is an insufficient argument for wild pollinator conservation"
Monday 1 June 2015
New paper published: "Insecticide resistance in pollen beetles over seven years - a landscape approach"

 

Our team work with ecosystem services and biodiversity conservation in agricultural landscapes.

Ecosystem services are the benefits people obtain from ecosystems. Several services are provided by organisms such as plants and insects. Biodiversity conservation is therefore important for the safe delivery and stability of services.

We work primarily with the ecosystem services biological pest control and crop pollination that support agricultural production. We also work with conservation of both rare and common biodiversity in the agricultural landscape.

We collaborate with several other research groups with the aims to deepen our understanding of ecological processes in human managed ecosystems, and to develop management strategies for multifunctional agricultural landscapes and sustainable and environmentally friendly crop production systems.

NOTE: We’ve changed our website address. Please bookmark the new address for the ecosystem services site: ecoservices.slu.se


Photo: Audrey St-Martin